EVERY TIME YOU READ POETRY, YOU CAN WALK ACROSS THE ATLANTIC

Estándar

Listen to that youtube poem by US Poet Laureate Billy Collins.

Then, fill in the gaps with the right options.
Answers will be given in class by 31st January.

“I wait for the ______ (1) crowd to clear the _______ (2)
before stepping onto the _______ (3) wave.

Soon I am walking across the Atlantic
thinking about ______ (4),
checking for whales, waterspouts.
I feel the ________ (5) holding up my shifting weight.
Tonight I will sleep on its rocking surface.

But for now I try to imagine what
this must look like to the _______ (6) below,
the bottoms of my ________ (7) appearing, disappearing.”

If you still think you can’t walk in a very different way when you read poetry, just click here.

28 responses »

  1. These are the words that I think that they fit in the hollows:

    (1): holiday
    (2): beach
    (3): first
    (4): Spain
    (5): water
    (6): fish
    (7): feet

  2. 1: holiday
    2:beach ( I think)
    3: first
    4:Spain
    5:waltter or water (I’m not sure)
    6:fish
    7feck or fet ( I don’t know)

Deixar unha resposta

